A Life of Delight in the Lord

An Interview with Mrs. Olivia Abanto, A Long-Time Pastor’s Wife

Mommy

This year, long-time pastor’s wife Olivia Abanto celebrates her 54th birthday. As such I took the opportunity to ask her several questions. Here’s how it turned out:

 

How is your Christian life today?

By the grace of God I am joyfully living my Christian life because of the Father’s unconditional love for me. I have proven his unconditional love because no matter how strong or frail I am at times, that love I felt from him never changes. The faithfulness of Christ my Lord in my life is the reason why I’m joyful. He gives the desires of my heart, He provides all my needs and answers my prayers according to His will and pleasure. The Holy Spirit, who is ever present in me, guides my steps, giving me wisdom and spiritual understanding, so that I shall give glory to Christ, resulting in my inner joy and gladness.

 

How do you find joy in the Lord?

I find my joy in the Lord by fellowshipping with him and in his Word in my quiet time, pouring out to him all my joys and tears and waiting on his presence that my strength may be renewed—expressing my deepest gratitude on everything he does and has done in my everyday life. I also find my joy in his creatures like beautiful flowers in the garden, my beautiful grandchildren and also my beautiful daughters and daughters-in-law and sons and sons-in-law who are serving the Lord.

 

What lays heavy in your heart today?

My travail and heavy burden in my heart is when my children disobey the Lord, sinning against God and turning far out of God’s purpose and calling in their lives.

 

What can you share to other pastors’ wives—whether advise or encouragement?

I am encouraging my fellow pastors’ wives to always seek God’s presence and strength and comfort of the Holy Spirit for which no one and nothing can provide for us. By these we can be a channel of God’s love and comfort to others.

 

What things do you want to accomplish in your 50s?

I want to multiply myself in the persons of my daughters, daughters-in-law, and granddaughters and ladies in the church.

I want to give out good books to as many as possible.

I want to help some adult ladies to start a small business corresponding to their abilities.

To God be the glory!

 

 

Mrs. Olivia Abanto has been a pastor’s wife for over 36 years to long-time pastor Felizardo Abanto, and is joyfully serving the Lord, being active in music and teaching the women in the church. She has written many articles for BDJ, many of which are compiled into one book, A Woman After God’s Own Heart.

 

Categories Christian life, God, God's love, God's Word, Holy Spirit, Jesus Christ, pastor's wife

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close